Calling all young people!

November 3, 2010 § 4 Comments

I will address this post specifically to all the young people out there (Don’t worry I won’t exclude the young at heart. This is also for you),

I’m reading an amazing book called “Against the tide” by Angus Kinnear (check my books-listing on the side of my home page). The book is a biography of the Evangelist-China-man “Watchman Nee.”

I won’t be surprised if some of you never heard of him or his work. Yet Nee’s writings were part of the essential resources that inspired the generation before us, focusing on God’s heart and the eternal purpose (By the way, my Dad was the one that introduced me to Nee’s books).

Youth today (you and me) are so excited to bring about what we like to call “Revolution” and “Movement.” We believe that we are the future leaders, called to spend our lives on Christ to bring about change. And that’s all swell and good. But I see a huge issue that needs to be addressed.

Personally, I fear that our generation is disconnected from the pervious movements and our rich history — heritage. It’s easy to forget that today we’re only standing on the shoulders of revivalists before us that have paved the way for God’s eternal purpose leading to this day. Yet I will carefully say that many of us are clueless and ignorant of our history (including me). Now, I believe that God is using many of his servant to edify and equip the body through the mainstream resources available today, but not all of them focus on what is essential. There were times when I feel that I’ve wasted my $20 and my time on books that talked about “christian-youth-pop-culture-lesson” that left me feeling unsatisfied.

Watchmen Nee

Nee’s book on the other hand, lit a fire inside of me. Witnessing God painting Nee’s life story through this book is amazing. His burning passion for the eternal purpose and God’s work in all simplicity broke my heart. It revived a fire that I remember having when I was in my teen years. The way Nee and people around him acknowledged God’s sovereignty in their life would not make any sense to many people. As ridiculous as it sounds, Nee lived daily depending on God’s voice in his life. His life’s calling reminded me so much of mine. I remember when I was a new-born again Christian. I didn’t know much about theology or theory and was still very naïve. But God’s voice was always clear speaking in my heart. And every-time I obeyed, He manifested greatly in my life.

The book talked not only about Nee’s success but also his weaknesses. As a 21 years old, Nee was very impatience because of his zeal for the Lord, but God patiently taught Nee through slow processes and struggles. He used problems and people around Nee to mold this beautiful clay. God used Nee and his friends to bring about His kingdom in China. There was a great revival happening as these group of young believers daily came together to fellowship, learn about God’s word and preach the good news. The body moved so viral, spreading fast and no one could stop it. Nee stayed faithful until his death through enduring persecutions with the other believers.

His last words written in his hand:

“Christ is the Son of God Who died for the redemption of sinners and resurrected after three days. This is the greatest truth in the universe. I die because of my belief in Christ.”

Therefore, I am encouraging my fellow brothers and sisters, young people around the world to be rooted in God’s eternal purpose and to learn our heritage. Most importantly, be sensitive to god’s voice for He is speaking loud and clear. Waste your whole life on the eternal purpose. Get His heart. if he’s called you to speak, speak out of the overflowing of your heart. If he’s called you for other things follow Him. For our stories have been written before the foundation of the world.

This is a wake-up call for my generation.

§ 4 Responses to Calling all young people!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Calling all young people! at Coffee & Bibles.

meta

